Antique snake necklace with rubies, diamonds and a stunning sapphire

As I wore the snake necklace on Portobello Road on Saturday I stopped by to speak with an antique dealer in one of the arcades, who has the most stunning selection of high-end antique and vintage jewellery.

She showed me one of her necklaces, also in the shape of a snake which drapes around your neck, and I was able to photograph it for you, and which you can order from me:

From the beginning of the 20th Century a 18k gold snake necklace with eyes of rubies, a large sapphire and diamonds, £1800: info@decadesofelegance.com 

Snake necklace with rubies, diamonds and a sapphire for £1800 – please email me if you would like to find out more about the piece: info@decadesofelegance.com 

Snake jewellery really fascinate me, and Queen Victoria’s engagement ring was in fact in the shape of a snake, designed especially for her by her beloved Albert, as snakes were a symbol of eternal love.  Engagement rings used to contain the lady’s birthstone, and in Victoria’s case the snake had an emerald-set head.

You will now start seeing some high-end jewellery as well on the blog, which is so exciting as we have a wonderful range of the most stunning pieces embellished with precious stones.

I will of course continue writing about our every day pieces as well, so I hope you will enjoy the array of all these lovely collections!

Leave a comment