Where the prettiest antiques go in Cape Town

I absolutely adore this romantic little tea set, as it has such an Alice in Wonderland feel to it.  

With a hat making grandmother I am always drawn to the most fabulous hats!

Some gorgeous silverware were towering on the shelfs in Joy’s shop 

Obviously I also ran into the most interesting African art and design in these beautiful antique shops… 

posters and paintings in a glorious mix

All the lovely treasures above are from Joy’s Collectables 

In Cape Town I snuck into this fabulous arcade populated with lots of beautiful antique shops called The Long Street Antique Arcade.  It was lovely to be able to lose myself in wonderful array of vintage clothes, shoes, handbags and jewellery!  In the photos above you can see the prettiest things that Joy sells in her shop Joy’s Collectables.

There were a few jewellery shops and also some shops that focused more on ornamental antiques – not to mention your usual grandmother’s closet-shops where hats and shoes are fighting for the most prominent places to be admired.

I absolutely love the tea set in the first photo, as I intend to put together a very varied collection of tea mugs, saucers and tea pots in my house one day. You can usually pick up the most beautiful tea sets at car boot sales, for almost no money – the same goes for sweet little vintage and bric-a-brac shops.

Leave a comment